The Department of cultural heritage of Moscow has allowed to carry out research and survey work for the restoration of six more objects on the territory of Novospassky Stavropegial monastery, reports the Synodal Department for monasteries and monasticism.
During research and survey of experts will explore the corner towers (the Southeast, North-West and North-East service building), part of the Western gallery of the Transfiguration Cathedral, the Northern communal housing and the walls of the 1640-1642 years. They will inspect, measure, fix all the key features, identify features of buildings.
The result will be drafted scientific restoration of the objects investigated.
“The restoration of the monastery lasted more than a year of work abound here. This is one of the oldest monasteries of Moscow, where in the years of Soviet power, when the monastery did not work, was located and the female reformatory, Borstal, and detox, and since 1930-ies of the hostel. Last year the bell tower was raised by the bell is an important event in the history of the Novospassky monastery. New permits for scientific research nearer the time when this unique monument will regain its original appearance,” – said the head of the Department of cultural heritage of Moscow Alexey Emelyanov.
The monastery was founded in 1282 by the Moscow Prince Daniil Alexandrovich. Around 1330, Prince Ivan Kalita moved the monastery to the Kremlin. After the fire of 1488 the building of the monastery was built outside the town on the steep Bank of the Moscow river (now Krutitsy hill) and gave him the name of the Savior in the New (Novospassky).
In 1785, construction was completed on the bell tower of the monastery. The work here was conducted almost 30 years. The bell tower with a height of 80.4 meters – the second highest in the capital after the Ivan the Great bell tower in the Kremlin.
Restoration of the bell tower of Novospassky monastery began in December of 2016. In 2017, there was installed a bell weighing 16.5 tons. In the spring of 2018, in the process, was discovered a plaque embedded in the Foundation of the Church of St. Sergius of Radonezh in the middle of the XVIII century.
The Novospassky monastery has the status of a Federal monument.