A chapel in honour of icon Bozhiej of Mother “the Sign” and the Holy Prince Alexander Nevsky — a monument to heroes of Plevna in Ilyinsky square plan to restore, according to the Diocese. The relevant information is posted on the procurement website.
The customer of works on preparation of project documentation is gku “Mosrestavratsiya”. The winner of the competition will perform pre-design work, including comprehensive research. Then, he presented the restoration project and will prepare documentation.
“Development of design documentation is carried out in order to complete the production of works on preservation and adaptation for modern use of the object”, — stated in the terms of reference.
For the execution of works reserved 324 working days from the date of conclusion of the contract. Applications for participation in competition are accepted until September 4, 2018.
Monument to heroes of Plevna the architect Vladimir Sherwood was built in 1887 cast-Iron octagonal tent-chapel, on a low pedestal is crowned with an Orthodox cross, side edge decorated with four reliefs. In front of the monument — cast iron pedestals with inscriptions “In favor of the maimed grenadiers and their families”. In the interiors, decorated with polychrome tiles that fit the picturesque image of Orthodox saints, seven bronze plates with the names of fallen grenadiers. After 1917 a large part of the interior decoration and the bronze plate with the names of the dead grenadiers was lost, and the chapel was closed and devastated. By the end of the great Patriotic war the chapel was put in order, restored the cross, and gilt inscriptions. In December 1992 the chapel was transferred to the Russian Orthodox Church and assigned to the Nikolo-Kuznetsky Church. Today the chapel assigned to the Kadashevsky the temple.